About Us

Presidential task force on energy demand side management was set up to speed up the energy demand side activities in the country which would curb the addition of 500 MW power plants to the national grid in five years’ time. This is an inter-ministerial task force headed by Minister of power and renewable energy, convened by the Secretary of Ministry of Power and Renewable energy.

Upon the guidance of this inter-ministerial task force, a national steering committee presided by the deputy minister of Power and Renewable energy, has been set up to implement the national programmes. This committee comprises of the heads of organizations attached to Ministry of Power and Renewable energy and senior officers of the other ministries in the presidential task force

The operational wing of the Presidential Task Force is the project management unit, which has been set up under the Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority. Engineers and other officers of Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority, Ceylon Electricity Board and Lanka Electricity Company Limited are attached to this unit. Demand side management activities of the all three organizations are coordinated though this unit in addition to driving the Major nine thrust areas on energy management.