Energy Tip
of the Day!

Energy star rated compact fluorescent Lamp (CFL) should be the choice in household lighting applications From the extraordinary Gazette notification No. 1611/10 of July 22,2099, the display of the Energy Label  on every CFL was made mandatory. The energy label consists of star rating which varies from  1 star   to 5star higher the number of the star greater the energy efficiency of the CFL. Accordingly CFLs having an energy label with 5 star are  most energy efficient compared to the  CFLs having 1star to  4star rating. By repacking a 1star CFL with 5star CFL with 5-7 watts lower in wattage the same light out put can be gained. Purchasing a CFL with 5 star rating about 5-7 watts  can be cut down At present LED Lamp technology has improved rapidly end in parallel the price of LED lamps have come down to  an affordable Scale for the domestic consumer. Sri Lanka has already introduced performance stety and Minimum Energy performance  standers (MEPS) for LED Lamps introduce for which satisfy MEPS.



Sri Lanka National Energy Efficiency Awards(SLEENA) ceremony is the annual event conducted by Sustainable Energy Authority(SEA) in collaboration with Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy to recognize the achievements of public and private sector institutions in energy efficiency improvement and conservation. Under different categories, industrial and commercial establishments, owned by the state and private sector will be join the SLEENA scheme for 2016, on successful implementation of energy efficiency improvement projects as well as with the introduction of energy management systems in their respective establishments.

Organizations and individuals showing excellent performance in energy efficiency improvement, conservation and management are recognized through

  • National Energy Efficiency Awards
  • Best Energy Services Companies Awards
  • Outstanding Energy Manager Award
  • Life time achievement awards each year

The 7th consecutive annual Awards ceremony was held with the distinguished participation of His Excellency Maithripala Sirisena, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Hon. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Minister of the Power and Renewable Energy, Hon. Ajith P.Perera, Deputy Minister of the Power and Renewable Energy, Dr. B.M.S. Batagoda ,Secretary of the Power and Renewable Energy, Eng. J.D. Keerthi Wickramaratne, Chairman, SEA, Mr. Ranjith Pathmasiri, Director General, SEA at BMICH Committee Room B on 24th of November 2016 at 3.00 p.m